Have a Youth Soccer Question? Please type your question here to search the WSSC and related sites
WSSC Volunteers Receive State Honors

Washington Youth Soccer "Of the Year Award" Winners

2012 Goal of the Year - Hank Church (BU-11 Titans)
West Seattle Soccer Club - 2012 "Of The Year" Award Winners

The West Seattle Soccer Club is a 100% Volunteer Organzation. We could not provide a high-quality soccer experience for our participants without the selfless service of over 300 volunteer coaches, adminstrators, and team volunteers. THANK YOU!!

The following volunteers were singled out for their outstanding contributions during the 2012 Soccer Season:

Volunteer of the Year - Tim McMonigle

"With more than a decade of truly exceptional leadership in the West Seattle Soccer Club and Highline Soccer Association, Tim McMonigle is the epitome of award winning volunteerism. Humble, passionate, and outstanding in all categories, he is one of the most dedicated participants, coaches, referees, and soccer supporters in the state."

Girls Recreational Coach of the Year - Chris Twombley (GU-18 Blue Crew)

"The amount of effort and time he put in my team over the years really showed how much he really cared for all of us. Above all he wants us all to succeed on and off the field. It has been nothing but an honor to play for him, and I will always remember him as a great coach and person."

January 2014 Update -- Chris Twombley wins National Recreational Coach of the Year!
View the WS Blog post (January 18, 2014)

Boys and Girls Recreational Coaches of the Year - Tim and Kristen Hinthorn (BU-11 Fireballs and GU-15 Inferno)

"It is overwhelming to see how many families have been so positively impacted by the Hinthorns, and to hear the stories of so many kids who still love and play soccer because of them... The flood of positive comments I received came from both boys and girls, kids and parents, all skill levels, long-time team members and brand new ones. To be so universally praised and respected is quite a feat, and demonstrates just how good these coaches are."

Also nominated by their peers and team families:

  • Scott Jones - BU-11 Thunderhawks
  • David Suzuki - BU-12 Panthers
  • Andre Tiffany - BU-10 Donuts
  • Bob Umeda - BU-18 Blue Dogs

Youth Referee of the Year - Nabil Ahmed

Other referees nominated for this honor:

  • Bona Adams
  • Brian McMonigle

Goal of the Year - Hank Church (BU-11 Titans)

Years of Service Award - Clydene Evans-Wenzel (15+ Years of Service)

"To one of our club's celebrated pioneers. We are truly grateful and appreciative for all of Clydene's time, efforts, and contributions to our club and community over the years!"

"Of The Year" Awards

The Of The Year Awards are Washington Youth Soccer's annual awards to recognize outstanding members in the following categories:

  • Administrator of the Year
  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Coach of the Year
  • Youth Goal of the Year
  • Save of the Year
  • TOPS Soccer Buddy of the Year
  • Young Referee of the Year

Nominations for each category are submitted on a local level to each Washington Youth Soccer District. Each District reviews its local nominations and selects its nominee in each category to submit to the state. Nomination forms and instructions are available HERE.

2010 Coach of the Year - Jean Robinson

Coach Jean Robinson (front row center) was honored as Washington Youth Soccer 2010 Boys Recreational Coach of the Year! Coach Jean led the West Seattle Sambas BU18/19 team to a perfect 12-0 season that culminated in a District Championship and a 2nd Place finish in the 2010 Recreational Cup State Championships. Way to go, Coach Robinson!!

WSSC President, Bill Fry, was a finalist for the 2010 Administrator of the Year!

Bill and Jean were previously honored as the Highline Soccer Association and District 3 "Of The Year" winners in their respective categories.

2009 Goal of the Year - Hailey Hirano (GU-09 Snow Leopards)
2009 "Of the Year" Winners

Hailey Hirano of the West Seattle GU-09 Snow Leopards was with winner of the Washington Youth Soccer Goal of the Year for her calm finish after a beautiful assist from her teammate Mia Spry. Way to go, Hailey!

West Seattle Soccer Club VP of Administration, James Foulk, was honored as the 2009 HSA and District 3 Administratior of the Year. Jamie was aso honored as Finalist for the Washington Youth Soccer State Award.

"Of The Year" Awards

Nominations Open NOW!


US Youth Soccer "Of The Year" Awards

Here is the link to the Annual Awards Gala recognizing US Youth Soccer's "Of the Year" Award Winners